16 Communist Terrorists surrender in Sibugay

A total of sixteen (16) Communist NPA Terrorists (CNTs), surrender and turn-over three firearms including one caliber 45 and two shotguns to the troops of the 102nd Brigade led by Colonel Bagnus Gaerlan under the Joint Task Force ZamPeLan in Imelda, Zamboanga Sibugay Province on Saturday (October 20).

Surrenderors include one regular member and 15 ‘Militia ng Bayan’ who operate and reside in Barangay Balagon, Siay, Zamboanga Sibugay Province.

The surrender was successfully facilitated by Honorable Jarvis M. Acosta, Mayor of Siay and Lieutenant Colonel Jonathan Obena, commander of the 44th Infantry Battalion.

Said surrenderors pledged for their loyalty to the government through an Oath of Allegiance.

In his message, Colonel Bagnus Gaerlan said that the surrender of the 16 CNTs will minimize the violent incidents and atrocities the AOR of the 102Bde and will weaken the CNTs mass base support.

Major General Roseller Murillo of the Joint Task Force ZamPeLan commended the troops of the 102Bde for this recent accomplishment. He also acknowledged the stakeholders active participation in the successful surrender of the 16 CNTs.

“This success manifests that with the implementation of the Enhanced Comprehensive Local Integration Program (E-CLIP), we are winning the hearts of the enemy to join the mainstream of society and live a peaceful life,” WestMinCom commander, Lieutenant General Arnel B. Dela Vega delightfully uttered. (Westmincom)